Series: Wedding Mistakes to Avoid| Part One

Nelson_456

Over the next few days I wanted to do a short “Wedding Mistakes I Made” series to offer some of my best wedding preparation advice. I know it is impossible for any one wedding to be completely perfect but there were a few blunders that I could have avoided with a little guidance and good advice.

Without any further ado here is probably my biggest Wedding Mistake.

I did not do a complete “taste testing” of all the foods that were going to be served at our reception.

Instead I did a hurried taste testing of my caterer of choice’s signature items  then proceeded to pick other things off their menu that I had never actually tasted. MISTAKE. The food at my reception ended up being okay but there were quite a few things that (and as my dear grandmother informed me) were plain bad!

Make sure you taste every dish you will be serving. Especially the big entree selections. Be sure to also double check with your caterer that this is exactly what you are going to be getting at the reception? (no substitutes)

For instance, Our meat choice ended up being almost completely raw so not many people even tried it. Which was very sad because it was one of the most expensive things on our menu. Make sure to tell your caterer how you want any meat prepared (medium,well done, etc). Don’t leave it to chance that the chef will have the same tastes as your guests.

Disclaimer: I don’t want you to think my wedding was a disaster..because it wasn’t. I still regard it as one of the best days of my life so far!

One thought on “Series: Wedding Mistakes to Avoid| Part One

  1. Pingback: Series: Wedding Mistakes to Avoid | Part Two | Happiness Centered

Leave a Reply

