DIY Mod Podge Canvas Map

Hola! Mine and my husband’s one year anniversary is this coming Sunday and as I was googling..”one year anniversary gifts” I came upon this great idea to put a map onto a canvas or poster board and then put pushpins or flags or whatever on all of the places that you have visited together. It’s a great reminder of the memories you’ve made together. It will also look pretty on your wall…hopefully.

So here is my experience as I walk you through the “how to”

Supplies Needed: Map, Canvas, Mod Podge or Spray Adhesive, Brush or Foam Roller, Pushpins, Frame (optional).


I purchased my 24″x36″ map off ebay for a whopping $11! I never realized how cheap you can get cool looking maps on ebay. I chose one that had neutral colors to match our home decor. it would be great for a kid’s room if you chose a map in bright colors and gifted it to them.



I bought my 24″x36″ canvas at Michael’s. Now for this item ALWAYS shop around. I found this canvas for 50%  off so it was only $17 for a huge canvas. If you want you could also just frame your map instead of putting it onto a canvas. If you’re short on time I would recommend taking this route.

Mod Podge Map

Mod Podge

I used Mod Podge as my adhesive but I honestly think a spray adhesive would have worked better…or maybe even elmer’s glue.

I sectioned off my map to my canvas and weighed the corners down with these glass vases.


I then worked Mod Podge in sections doing a corner at a time. If I could do over again I would work in much smaller areas and smooth out bubbles as I went.



Canvas Map

Mod Podge Drying

The Mod Podge dries clear. As you can see there will be wrinkles left if you use the Mod Podge Method but I kindof like the weathered look.


After it had fully dried I placed my gold pins on all of the places we had traveled together so far.


Here is the finished product hanging on our wall!

3 thoughts on “DIY Mod Podge Canvas Map

  1. This looks really neat!
    I’m going to try to make this as a gift and i was just wondering if there’s a specific material you need to use with Mod Podge. This is kind of a dumb question, but is the map you used a glossy poster material? Or is it more papery like typical maps?

  2. So you put Mod Podge both under and over the map, right? If you were to do it over with spray adhesive, would you do the same thing? Or put spray adhesive between the canvas and map and still Mod Podge over it?

Leave a Reply

