DIY Chalk Paint with Minwax Stain

Okay, as you can see, I’m still on my Chalk Paint kick. My hubby is out of town this week so I was able to knock this dresser out in two days! I just used green and white acrylic paint mixed with my Plaster of Paris Chalk Paint recipe. (2 tbs of PoP, 2tbs of water to 1 cup of paint) I also used a Minwax Kona stain after I applied one coat of clear Minwax to give it a darker, worn appearance. Here is this finished look.

After

After

Before

Before

One Coat of Chalk Paint
One Coat of Chalk Paint

After Two Coats

After Two Coats

Two Coats and Distressed

Two Coats and Distressed

Stain over Chalk Paint and Wax

Stain over Chalk Paint and Wax

Chalk Paint, Wax, then stain

Chalk Paint, Wax, then stain

Finished!
Finished!

One thought on “DIY Chalk Paint with Minwax Stain

  1. I know this is an old post, but maybe you’ll see this 🙂

    When you say you used a coat of clear Minwax, do you mean a polyurethane?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

